GUGGI – BROKEN

Château La Coste is delighted to announce Broken, the first major solo exhibition in the South of France by the celebrated Dublin-based artist Guggi. The exhibition consists of new sculpture and works on paper.

In a new series of paintings on paper, Guggi depicts motifs of bowls and jugs, drawn in jagged pencil lines. Each vessel appears to crinkle or contort, presented on distressed brown paper with torn edges and surface creases. Repetition is a key motif, with many of the paintings divided into two distinct spheres of paint.

Adding a second strand to Broken, the artist presents a series of sculptures, made from bronze, fibreglass, resin and oil paint. The simple, curvilinear forms of these bowl-like vessels bestow them an almost meditative quality – in a bronze piece, for instance, the matte black exterior withholds light while its highly polished interior reflects it. As well as giving three-dimensional expression to Guggi’s nuanced explorations of form and space, these works create a link to the landscape of Château La Coste, home to Guggi’s monumental bronze sculpture Calix Meus Inebrians since 2009.

Guggi was born 1959, Dublin, Ireland and began his career as a musician with the cult band Virgin Prunes, notorious for their unusual yet spectacular performances, before concentrating full time on painting. Since the early 1990’s Guggi’s work has continued to explore the depiction of common everyday objects. With a focus on repetition and abstraction, Guggi’s signature motifs of bowls and other vessels are transformed and freed of their context often articulated with a deceptive simplicity that heightens their stillness and meditative presence.

Kelly Grovier, historian and art critic, writes of Guggi’s work: “Objects from another world that don’t sit so much as shudder, as if lit from an energy deep inside that confounds their substance. Excavations of dissolving form – half-remembered and half-erased – at once poignant and philosophical.”

Previous exhibitions include Yoshii Gallery, Paris (2017) and New York (2016, 2010); Kerlin Gallery, Dublin (2013, 2009, 1993, 1990); Accademia Fine Art, Monaco (2012); BePalermitano, Buenos Aires (2012); Freies Museum, Berlin (2011); John Rocha, London (2010); Osborne Samuel Gallery, London (2004) and Tony Shafrazi Gallery, New York (2001). Guggi’s work is held in the public collections of the Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin, Château La Coste, Le Puy Sainte Réparade, France and Akureyi Municipal Art Gallery, Iceland and collected by both private and corporate collections in Ireland and abroad.

2018-10-28T15:03:28+00:00August 19th, 2018|Art & Architecture|

GUGGI

GUGGI – BROKEN

Château la Coste est heureux d’annoncer Broken, la première exposition solo majeure dans le sud de la France du célèbre artiste Guggi. Cette exposition sera composée de sculptures et travaux sur papier.

Dans une nouvelle série de peintures sur papier, Guggi dépeint des motifs de bols et cruches dessinés aux traits de crayon. Chaque vaisselle semble se tordre, présentée sur des papiers bruns en détresse avec des bords déchirés et une surface pliée. La répétition est un motif clé, avec beaucoup de peintures divisées en deux sphères de peinture distincte.

Ajoutant une seconde plage à « Broken », l’artiste présente une série de sculptures faites de bronze, fibre de verre, résine et peinture à l’huile. Les formes simples et curvilignes de ces récipients en forme de bol leur confèrent une qualité presque méditative – dans une pièce en bronze, par exemple, l’extérieur noir mat retient la lumière tandis que son intérieur hautement poli le reflète. En plus de donner une expression tridimensionnelle aux explorations nuancées de Guggi sur la forme et l’espace, ces œuvres créent un lien avec le paysage du Château La Coste, qui abrite la monumentale sculpture en bronze Calix Meus Inebrians de Guggi depuis 2009.

Guggi est né en 1959 à Dublin en Irlande, il a commencé sa carrière en tant que musicien avec le groupe culte, Virgin Prunes, célèbre pour leur spectaculaire performance, avant de se concentrer sur la peinture. Depuis le début des années 90, Guggi continue d’explorer dans son travail la représentation d’objets usuels du quotidien. Avec un focus sur la répétition et l’abstraction, les motifs bols signature de Guggi sont transformés et libérés de leur contexte original grâce à une simplicité trompeuse qui renforce leur silence et leur présence méditative.

Kelly Grovier, historien et critique d’art écrit à propos du travail de Guggi « Des objets d’un autre monde qui ne tremblent pas, comme s’ils étaient éclairés par une énergie profonde qui confond leur substance. Des fouilles de forme dissolvante –partiellement oubliée et à demi effacée – à la fois poignante et philosophique. “

Précédentes expositions : Galerie Yoshii, Paris (2017) et New-York (2016, 2010) ; Galerie Kerlin (2013, 2009, 1993, 1990) ; Accademia Fine Arts, Monaco (2012) ; BePalermitano, Buenos Aires (2012) ; Freies Museum, Berlin (2011) ; John Rocha, Londres (2010) ; Galerie Samuel Osborne, Londres (2004) ; Galerie Tony Shafrazi, New York (2001). Le travail de Guggi est aussi exposé dans les collections publiques du Musée d’art moderne d’Irlande, Dublin, Château la Coste, France, la Galerie Akureyi, Islande et dans des collections d’Irlande et au-delà.

2018-10-28T15:04:43+00:00août 19th, 2018|Art & Architecture|