Rieko Tamura – Château la Coste 2019

This series of photographs by Japanese artist Rieko Tamura have been taken at Château la Coste during a visit in March 2019. Using a particular silver film camera, a technique that she has been exploring for 19 years, and photographing mostly in the soft light of dusk or dawn, Tamura has captured the provencal light and poetic moments across the property. The human intervention amidst the beauty of nature is seen in some instances through works of art, or simply in the geometry of the vineyards. In this way, Tamura visualises “the unconscious dimension of human life resonating with the nature that surrounds it.” In other images, nature stands alone.

Greater detail is achieved through the use of Bartya paper, which involves a slow washing and drying process. In her own words, Tamura concentrates at the level of fine grain detail, “controlling every part of the photographic process from the outdoors to the dark room, it is as if I am “drawing” these photographs in black and white, or “painting” a universe that I can see.”

Tamura grew up in Hokkaido, an island known for its harsh climate and many of her works seem to confront the power of nature with a hint of fear and the sublime. Her images of forests, snow covered landscapes and the sea have been praised for their sensibility and contemplative nature.

Rieko Tamura has lived and worked in Paris since 2011.

Rieko Tamura – Château la Coste 2019

Cette série de photographies de l’artiste Japonaise Rieko Tamura présentent le Château la Coste passé sous son objectif argentique. Prises lors de sa dernière visite en Provence en mars 2019, Tamura a réussi à capturer la lumière et l’ambiance poétique propre à la Provence. L’homme aime travailler la nature qu’il considère comme source incommensurable d’inspirations et de beauté, l’objectif de Tamura, lui, capture ce qu’elle appelle les inconsciences de l’Homme qui vibrent en étroite relation avec la nature et ce qui l’entoure. Sur d’autres de ses productions la nature suffit à elle seule.

La touche personnelle de l’artiste vient de ses choix de colorimétrie et de matière. Ses images sont imprimées sur des films noir et blanc par une exposition longue, et ensuite tirées sur papier Baryté. elle cherche avant tout à partager sa vision non pas simplement de ce qui est, ce pour quoi elle parle de « dessiner » mes photographies grâce aux pigments argentiques et « peindre » mon univers.

Tamura a grandi en Hokkaido, une île connue pour son climat dur et nombreuses de ses images semblent confronter le pouvoir de la nature avec un semblant de crainte et de sublime. Ses photographies de forêts, de paysages enneigés et de la mer ont été saluées pour leur sensibilité et nature contemplative.

Depuis 2011 Rieko Tamura vit et travaille à Paris.