Paul Mathieu – Still Motion

This event brings together a selection of Paul Mathieu’s iconic pieces of the last ten years, created independently of each other as objects of sculpture or as part of collections.Presented as furniture in different countries and spaces, they are now gathered at Chateau La Coste as individual works detached from their functional aspect.From the different countries and workshops from which they were imagined, elaborated and produced, these pieces gave birth to a movement, an owned emotion, a suspended moment, “Motion Immobile” where the visitor is invited to witness, be inspired, and transported.

This exhibition is an opportunity to see the creations of Paul Mathieu for the first time converse together, with the public, in one place and in the architectural space of Renzo Piano.“To be totally free from something that I may have done before—I first empty my mind of everything that can bind me, grab my sketchbook and begin to sketch… and let the sketch talk to me.”

Paul Mathieu’s furniture and lighting designs are like the man himself—unique with depth and style. The commonality of his designs, whether they are a bespoke creation for a client, one of his collections, representations or licensees, are pure Paul Mathieu in their exquisite craftsmanship and aesthetic austerity fabricated from the finest materials and with innovative technology. His avant-garde furnishings combine traditional and contemporary elements that create sensual and sculptural silhouettes. There is an unassuming harmony of nature that blends the sinuous curves of his designs with tailored geometry, creating a fluidity of components. Graceful and elegant modernism pieces are the result of his highly distinctive aesthetic style. There is a clean, luxurious simplicity as well as a richness…and always unseen but thoughtful engineering, lending to the design’s mysterious quality.

Bespoke furniture and lighting designs have always been at the core of Mathieu’s work. He continually designs furniture and lighting for clients, working one-on-one; His original designs are found within some of the world’s most coveted international furniture collections among them Donghia, Holly Hunt, Luxury Living Group, Stephanie Odegard, and Ralph Pucci; and his signature collections in bronze and Murano glass are available through Ralph Pucci and the Willer Gallery, London.

No matter what piece Mathieu may be designing, it is ultimately instinctive. In starting to design an object, he lets his hand naturally guide his pencil on a piece of paper, tracing shapes and contours. As he says, “A sort of listening is at play when I design furniture, whereby edges and forms are revealed. It is also the expression of thoughts and memories through form.”

Paul Mathieu – Still Motion

 Cet événement rassembleuse sélections de pièces iconiques de Paul Mathieu de ces dix dernières années, créées indépendamment les unes des autres en tant que sculptures ou dans le cadre de collections.

Ces oeuvres individuelles détachées de leur aspect fonctionnel sont maintenant réunies et converseront ensemble pour la première fois dans le Pavillon de Renzo Piano au Château La Coste. Inspirées des différents pays et ateliers où elles ont été imaginées, élaborées et produites, les pièces de l’exposition “Mouvement Immobile”  invitent le visiteur à se laisser transporter dans un moment suspendu. 

Cette exposition est l’occasion de voir les créations de Paul Mathieu pour la première fois converser ensemble et avec le public, et l’espace architectural de Renzo Piano.

 “Pour être totalement libre de quelque chose que j’aurai déjà fait. Je commence par vider mon esprit de tout ce qui peut me lier, j’attrape mon carnet de dessin, je commence à dessiner et je laisse les croquis me parler. Les meubles et design luminaire de Paul Mathieu son comme lui_unique avec une certaine profondeur et un style unique. Le point commun de ses designs, ils sont tous fabriqués à partir des meilleurs matériaux et à l’aide d’une technologie innovante. Son mobilier d’avant garde combine élément traditionnel et contemporain créant des silhouettes sensuelles et sculpturales. Il existe une harmonie sans prétention de la nature associant les courbes sinueuses de ses conceptions à une géométrie adaptée, créant une fluidité des composants. Elegance et grace moderne sont le résultat de ce style esthétique distinct. Il s’agit d’une simplicité épurée et luxueuse, ainsi que d’une richesse… et d’une ingénierie toujours invisible mais réfléchie, qui confère à la conception une qualité mystérieuse. 

Les meubles et design luminaire sur mesure ont toujours été au coeur du travail de Mathieu. Ces conceptions originales peuvent être vues dans les plus grandes collections du monde : Donghia, Holly Hunt, Luxury Living Group, Stephanie Odegard, Ralph Pucci et la Gallerie Willer, Londres. Peu importe la pièce qu’il crée, c’est instinctif. En commençant à concevoir un objet, il laisse sa main guider naturellement son crayon sur une feuille de papier, en traçant des formes et des contours. Comme il le dit lui-même: «Quand je conçois une pièce, une sorte d’écoute est en jeu. Les contours et les formes sont révélés. C’est aussi l’expression de pensées et de souvenirs à travers la forme. ”