Hiroshi Sugimoto – The Sea and The Mirror

Château La Coste is pleased to announce that the new Renzo Piano Photography Pavilion will be inaugurated with The Sea and the Mirror, an exhibition of photography by the Japanese artist Hiroshi Sugimoto. Curator Philip Larratt-Smith has made a careful selection of ten large-format works from the artist’s iconic Seascapes series to create a resonant and poetic presentation in dialogue with Piano’s architecture.

Hiroshi Sugimoto is one of the most important photographers of the past 40 years, celebrated for his technical virtuosity and his conceptual rigour in equal measure. Since 1980, Sugimoto has reinvented the genre of classical photography in what is perhaps his best-known series, the Seascapes. The concept behind the series is deceptively simple: the primordial landscape of sea and sky is photographed at various locations around the world. Sugimoto is a master craftsman, able to capture subtle shifts in light quality and a rich range of tonalities through the extreme perfection of his photographic prints. When installed in series, the cumulative effect of the Seascapes becomes even more powerful. The result is an open-ended and ongoing body of work that constitutes a veritable atlas of light and water.

Time is one of Sugimoto’s great subjects, and the artist has stated that he was inspired to make images that would have been recognizable to primitive man. In doing so, he holds up a mirror to our own identity in the present. In Larratt-Smith’s words: “by blurring the line between human history and eternity, representation and abstraction, Seascapes takes its place in the traditions of nature photography even as it achieves the status of a contemporary sublime.”

Sugimoto’s Seascapes take on special resonance in Piano’s Photography Pavilion. Situated amidst the vineyards that make up the rich domain of Château La Coste, the Photography Pavilion opens with a narrow corridor that widens out into a truncated triangular space. The play of the elements in Piano’s architecture meets the singular mixture of archaic and contemporary in Sugimoto’s art. The Sea and the Mirror represents a unique dialogue between two contemporary masters.

2017-07-17T08:15:59+00:00 April 26th, 2017|Art & Architecture|

Hiroshi Sugimoto – The Sea and The Mirror

Château La Coste est heureux d’annoncer que son nouvel espace d’exposition : le Pavillon de Photographie de Renzo Piano sera inauguré avec l’exposition The Sea and the Mirror de l’artiste Hiroshi Sugimoto. Le commissaire d’exposition Philip Larratt-Smith a soigneusement sélectionné 8 oeuvres grand-format de l’iconique série des Seasapes afin de créer une présentation poétique qui résonne avec l’architecture de Renzo Piano.

Hiroshi Sugimoti est l’un des photographes les plus influents des 40 dernières années, reconnu à la fois por sa virtuosité technique et sa rigueur conceptuelle. Depuis 1980, Sugimoto réinvente la photographie classique dans ce qui est peut-être sa série la plus connues : Seascapes. Le concept de cette série est faussement simple : le paysage essentiel du ciel et de la mer est photographié dans plusieurs lieux partout dans le monde. Sugimoto est maître-artisan, capable d’immortaliser de subtiles variations de la lumière et une large palette de tonalités, grâce à l’extrême perfection de ses impressions photographiques. Présentées en série, l’effet cumulatif des Seascapes est encore plus percutant. Il en résulte une oeuvre sans limite, qui constitue un véritable atlas de lumière et d’eau.

Le temps est l’un des sujets de prédilection de Sugimoto. L’artiste a déclaré qu’il souhaitait réaliser des prises de vues qui puissent être reconnues par des hommes primitifs. Par cette démarche, il tend un miroir à notre propre identité. Selon les mots de Larratt-Smith : « tout en brouillant les lignes entre histoire de l’homme et éternité, entre figuratif et abstrait, Seascapes prend sa place dans la tradition de la photo naturaliste tout en atteignant un statut de sublime contemporanéité».

Seascapes prend une dimension toute particulière dans le Pavillon de Photographie de Renzo Piano. Situé au coeur des vignes qui constituent la richesse du domaine Château La Coste, le Pavillon s’ouvre sur un étroit couloir qui s’élargit progressivement vers un espace triangulaire. Le rôle des éléments dans l’architecture de Renzo Piano répond ainsi au singulier mélange archaïque et contemporain des oeuvres de Sugimoto. The Sea and the Mirror incarne un dialogue unique entre deux maîtres contemporains.